Return to Headlines

District Names 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year

The Hazelwood School District 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year have been chosen.

A Teacher of the Year is named at each school, after which an overall District Teacher of the Year and two runners-up are selected.

Ashley Gerald, first grade teacher at Lusher Elementary School, has been named the 2018-2019 Hazelwood Teacher of the Year.

Katie Hernandez of Jana Elementary and Stephani Durant of West High School tied for first runner-up.

Ms. Gerald was surprised with the news in her classroom Dec. 17 by Superintendent Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart and Assistant Superintendent Juan Cordova.

She is a Hazelwood Central High School graduate, and has taught at Lusher Elementary for the past four years; she began teaching in the Hazelwood School District in Spring 2007 and taught previously at both Grannemann and Keeven Elementary.

"I am honored to receive this award. We have an amazing group of educators in our district, so to be recognized by my peers for my growth and work is amazing," Gerald said. "I do not take it lightly and I am so thankful to those that have contributed to my success throughout the years."

The Teacher of the Year honorees at each school are:

Armstrong Elementary - Lizabeth Johnson

Arrowpoint Elementary - Amy Williams

Barrington Elementary - Paris Bouchard

Brown Elementary - Jean Goldstein

Cold Water Elementary - Monica Warren

Early Childhood - Stacey Anderson

Garrett Elementary - Toni Grimes

Grannemann Elementary - Jernae Craig

Jamestown Elementary - William Kuhnert

Jana Elementary - Katie Hernandez

Jury Elementary - Kelsey Bodie

Keeven Elementary - Allison Cooke

Larimore Elementary - Angela Turner

Lawson Elementary - Jaimie Wilmes

Lusher Elementary - Ashley Gerald

McCurdy Elementary - Teresa Fiudo

McNair Elementary - Rachel Johnson

Russell Elementary - Molly Vatterott

Townsend Elementary - Chelsea Christman

Twillman Elementary - Sharene Brown

Walker Elementary - Renee Jenner

Central Middle - Cindy Miller

East Middle - Anna Zakrzewski

North Middle - Lauren Chadbourne

Northwest Middle - Joyce Pipes

Southeast Middle - Matthew Loyet

West Middle - Mark Hicks

Opportunity Center - Dorothy Burford

Central High - Patrick Rocco

East High - Cassandra Thomas

West High - Stephani Durant

The Support Staff of the Year recipients will be named soon.

Gerald surprised in class

Gerald with class